iMuslim (Wordpress.com)

British Blogger, Desi Dreamer, Mad Muslimah

Happy Valentine Palestine

Let’s forget the halality or haramity of Valentines Day for a moment. Today, true love was in the air at Hyde Park.

That was the departure point for the Viva Palestina convoy, who are now all on their way to Ramsgate, from where they will begin their long journey to Gaza.

I didn’t expect it, but I was quite overcome by emotion at times: both with joy, as well as a happy kind of sadness. My heart was genuinely moved by the people around me. We should all thank Allah for allowing us to witness such devotion and selflessness. Alhamdulillah. In fact, such were my feelings, that I was sufficiently motivated to come down to the Apple Store, just so I could blog about it!

Please make dua for the people on this convoy, as well as the people they are making all these efforts for. May Allah grant them peace and success. Ameen.

You can still be a part of the action: send in your donations and messages of good will via the Viva Palestina website.

I have captured more footage which I hope to put together this weekend, insha’Allah. Speaking of which, I have to mention a compliment I received from one of the Press TV crew!

I actually met him last week at the convoy meeting; the footage from which I used to produce my last video for iMuslim.tv. I was carrying my little HV20, whereas he had a much better, TV-worthy video camera. Unsurprisingly, I don’t think he took me very seriously.

Somehow he watched my video online, so when I bumped into him again today, he noted how he was impressed with the quality of my shots, masha’Allah – in spite of the smallness of my camera! He then encouraged me to get a bigger one… but who can afford it?!

Anyway, that cheered me up. I hope to improve over time, insha’Allah. I especially need to work on my post-production skills, and learn how to get really good audio. That’s definitely harder than getting good video. I also need to invest in more equipment. It all costs though… sigh.

I need a sponsor, fast!

Anyway… I gotsta get going. Peace y’all!

Written by iMuslim

February 14, 2009 at 2:13 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …such were my feelings, that I was sufficiently motivated to come down to the Apple Store…

    Did you really need any extra motivation to go there?

    Congrats on the compliment. I’m not in the industry so I have no relevant commentary beyond saying that I thought it was extremely well done as well masha-Allah.

    Faraz

    February 14, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  2. I knew someone would comment on the Apple Store thing! I did only go there with the intention to blog. I had to leave soon after publishing the entry, so it wasn’t a “social” call!

    iMuslim

    February 14, 2009 at 6:09 pm

  3. LOL.

    Organica

    February 14, 2009 at 9:02 pm

  4. :p

    iMuslim

    February 15, 2009 at 1:02 am

  5. oh you got a vdo blog as well ..:S

    Tauqeer

    February 15, 2009 at 7:59 am

  6. One silver lining from the Gaza/Israel conflist (if there is such a thing as a silver lining from it) is the way everyone has come together to support the Palestinians. Must be the first time i have ever seen British Jews, Muslims and Christians actually pulling together in the same direction. Just a shame it took such an abhorrent act to do it.

    Paul

    February 16, 2009 at 12:42 am

  7. Apple Store is the love.
    You should send a Valentine’s to the workers, you probably bring up their hopes that you’re coming to BUY but use the products and scoot!
    :p

    The convoy makes me feel hopeful, I just truly hope the journey’s a success.

    hfm

    February 16, 2009 at 11:15 pm

  8. Aww :)

    Sumera

    February 17, 2009 at 10:43 pm

  9. [...] promised in my last entry (though a bit late, admittedly), here is a video documenting the depature event of the Viva [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

